Chant for the Departed

This came about a couple weeks ago when I did my first zoom Pilates class.  The gym shut down the middle of March 2020, along with everything else because of the coronavirus. So, I hadn’t done any pilates for two months.  We were all on the floor, a different way for me since I have always done pilates on a reformer.  Anyway, we were working away and I swung my left arm over my head.  This normally wouldn’t be a problem except I hadn’t done any exercise for two months.  I wrenched my left shoulder, went to the doctor and turns out I aggravated my bursa meaning I now have bursitis.

About a week after hurting my shoulder I was in my Power of 8 Intention Group and it was my turn for an intention.  I had them intend on my shoulder being healthy.  Afterwards one of the people mentioned feeling depression and grief.  I mentioned how I’d been working hard on strengthening my lungs (which in Chinese medicine is the seat of grief, depression and sadness) with qi gong practice because I need healthy lungs in case I get the covid virus.  One of the guys in the group said he would send me a recording of a chant for grief called Chant for the Departed.

Night before last I had the weirdest experience.  It wasn’t a dream, I was awake and saw this person, I think it was a female, she had a yellowish turban on and a yellowish dress and a pitch black face with no facial features.  Just a black, black face, no features and this yellowish turban.  I tried thinking of other things, happy things to get the image to go away but it didn’t work.  I thought of waking up Gary, which is something I do if I have a really scary dream, but this wasn’t a dream and I wasn’t really scared, just uncomfortable.  So I laid there with her in my mind.  Finally I fell asleep.  I told Gary about this peculiar event yesterday and that was it.

In the afternoon I was cleaning up emails, putting stuff in folders, deleting tons of junk and came across the Chant for the Departed so thought I’d listen to it before putting it in a folder.  As it played, this faceless lady appeared and hung out with me as I sobbed and sobbed.  I thought of Beverly and Carol, Mom and Dad and me all sitting in a circle with this faceless lady in the center and we cried for her, or I cried for me – who knows.  I can’t remember.  But I realized this faceless lady IS my grief and sadness and she told me it was/is time to deal with the grief.  She is the loss of my two sisters, my mother and even my father who I was never close to.

If I want to heal my lungs, to have strong, healthy, inflammation free lungs I need to address these emotions.  And I am dealing with them with my qigong practice, the intentions from my Power of 8 group and now this recording – Chant for the Departed.

One thought on “Chant for the Departed

  1. Oh my, what an exceptional experience. Thank you for sharing. Sending you positive thoughts and healing Love and Light. Xx 😘

    Like

Leave a comment